Sunny Days in DC

Jack of All Trades, Master of 3-ish.

Motherfucking Ireland!!

on August 21, 2013

So, I’ve been here for a little over a week. For those who don’t know, read my blog. HA! But also, I’ve moved from DC to Dublin. Ireland. Like, the country. Right now, my husband has taken my son so I can send out resumes and write on my blog.

So here I am. On my blog. In Dublin. With a pint of Guinness to my right. And here’s the conclusion I’ve come to about this country:

It’s completely underrated!

If Europe were a college, you’d have several stereotypical students here. France would be the annoying, pretentious philosophy student. They drink wine and smoke, right? Italy would be the art major… ugh. I mean… delightful? Poland would be that odd Gamer that comes to class but nobody knows their name. Germany would be the straight A student who is president of the Virginity club, but smokes meth on the side. England would sorta be that general kid on campus who is ok, maybe he parties a bit, but he’s not bad.

But Ireland? Ireland is the frat boy of the group, and everyone judges him for it. But here’s the thing about that kid: what you don’t know is that he volunteers his summers to Special Olympic events, and works to put his younger siblings through school, and yeah he blows off steam, but for good reason.

Likewise, Ireland is a little under rated. This is EASILY the most baby-friendly country I’ve ever been to! Do you know how many times someone has said to me, “Oh! Look at your lad! Isn’t he just the lovliest thing you ever saw?!” Well, yeah… but I think that because he’s MINE. I don’t expect others to feel the same way… but they do. OMFG do they love kids here. And they’re so friendly you could throw up. A bus driver took my dad TO MY APARTMENT because he got lost. Now, yeah, it was along is route, but the driver didn’t have to do that!

Do they drink here? For sure! I live in Drumcondra, right near a major sports stadium, and on the day of the Big Game (some crazy irish shit they only play here with… like…. fuckin’ hedgehogs or whatever) the area was PACKED. And people still backed out of the way to let the lady with the baby through. And drunk people apologized to me. And I won’t even go into how technologically advanced they are! Frankly, I was a little ashamed at how my husband and I gawked at some of the things they have around here. Uh…. when did the frat boy major in programming?!?!?! 

So, you can now reach me at 18 Frat Boy lane. That’s my address. And, if they’ll have me, I’ll raise a pint to them all.

So you online. I’m blogging from Dublin now, y’all!

11 responses to “Motherfucking Ireland!!

  1. Wow, congrats! I want to have a pint while I blog now and move to Ireland while I’m at it. It’s nothing like a little perspective I bet, huh? One day, I’d like to experience a different country and I was so pleased to learn they are so kid friendly. Enjoy!

  2. A pint of Guinness at hand, technology, AND nice people?..they really sound nice. Sounds like a great place to land. Looking forward to more about the place.

  3. Very good blog. I love hearing the ex pat stories. I guess I should go there because I am a polite drunk as well.

  4. ekgo says:

    EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE <–very loud squeal
    THIS IS SO COOL!!!!!!!!!!
    OMG. O. M. G.
    I cannot wait to hear stories and to see pictures and I wish my Longest Running Friend (who doesn't run) still lived in Scotland because then we'd hop across the border and visit you and you'd get a headache and it would be AWESOME but you wouldn't have to take care of me because I'd just be visiting.
    Wow. That was not where I meant to go. But it's good to hear from you on the blog and I love that you're writing FROM DUBLIN! IN IRELAND! YAY!

  5. Tyler J. Yoder says:

    Marvelous! I’m glad that it’s working out well! MORE IRELAND, PLEASE.

  6. its why we came here in 1988 with 4 children, everyone grown up etc now but still its a brilliant place inspite of the expensive booze, just love the chat

People who leave comments on blogs have been statistically shown to live longer, happier lives.

Humans Are Weird

colourful observations

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

1pointperspective

NOT just another WordPress.com site

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

lauren.nicolette.colie.

writer.editor.researcher.

Cinema Parrot Disco

Musings on Mainly Movies from a Table 9 Mutant

Skinny Jeans & Cupcakes

Fashionably Fit While Ballin' on a Budget

The Dirty Dame

Penny for your dirty thoughts?

Vanessa-Jane Chapman

Blog of a 40 something year old mother of two. She writes, she acts, she bakes, she works in education.

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

006.7 EKGO

a blogful of stories

mlewisredford

almost indefatigable and quietly militant naïveté ...

Bain Waves

The world is hurting; laugh more.

The Juggle Struggle

Trying hard not to drop the balls or smash the plates.

Sweet Mother

Where my Old writing lives!

Free Range Cow

The adventures and roamings of a silly cow

bakingnotwriting

A site by a writer who is baking...or a baker who isn't writing

Pucker Up Buttercup

Wisdom & Nonsense From Your Basic Suburbanite Baroness

I Won't Take It

Life After an Emotionally Abusive Relationship

