Sunny Days in DC

Jack of All Trades, Master of 3-ish.

And then, the tidal wave of shit hit me in the face… like a… a shitty similie.

on May 17, 2013

I’ve sat down to write this a dozen times, not because it’s emotional, but because I’m easily distracted and there’s been a lot to distract me lately, both good and bad.

If you’ve read all my posts, then you have a tremendous amount of spare time to devote to feeding my ego, and I thank you for it. But also you may have realized something: at one point, I was both unemployed, and pregnant. This was not a coincidence.

For anyone reading who is not in the US, please don’t think that what I’m about to write is par for the course here, but…. I was fired for being pregnant. I can say that, because MY CASE FINALLY SETTLED!!!! It was over a year of litigation and pushing through the rough times and the expenses, but finally, they blinked.

I don’t know if I can go into the details of my case, but suffice it to say, they were blatant about why they were letting me go. And the foolish woman that I was, I thought, ‘Surely, the man who owns this company is a man of honor, and once he finds out what happened, he’ll settle the case, and maybe even fire the people who did this!’ but I was wrong. What I DID get in return was 9 straight hours of a deposition, which is essentially being asked the same 5 or 6 questions in different ways. For 9 hours. But then, finally, two weeks ago, my lawyer called me and said that they were willing to settle.

I had won. I WON. I won’t be rich, but that was never really the point. The point was that they had broken the law, and they should be penalized for it. And I won’t tell you how LITTLE they are NOT being penalized, but hell, at least I won. And that’s not nothing.

Anyway, then work sucked my fucking will to live, and my boss is mad because I made two mistakes on a spreadsheet that no one looks at.

Did I mention this was a complain-y post? Well, it is.

On the bright side you guys, I wrote a short story and the first draft is almost done. Then I’ll edit that shit, and work toward getting published. Because while you sonsofbitches are amazing and you’re all each my special little snowflakes, mama needs to make some money off of writing. After all, winning your case isn’t like winning the lotto… sadly.

Whatcha been up to? Who’s pregnant? What did I miss??

12 responses to “And then, the tidal wave of shit hit me in the face… like a… a shitty similie.

  1. Those Stupid ones! They deserve all the misery life can give them. (and love your description of depositions – totally accurate.)
    YEA for the struggle. Hope life tilts in your favor now.

    • H. Stern says:

      Thanks!! Me, too!

      But yes, that’s pretty much exactly how my deposition went. The funny thing is, my lawyer was like, “They have nine hours, but I’ve never seen the opposing side actually TAKE the full 9…” Yeah. So, I sat there while their lawyer made snarky comments that he thought went over my head, and I just kept telling myself to keep cool, and I had nothing to get upset about because I knew I was in the right. But honestly, it feels SO GOOD just to be able to say, “I won.” I feel like, at the very least, I set a good example for my son, and for women in my life.

  2. Dude! I’m glad you won your case! That really sucks of your ex company to be all douchey like that, but hey. You win, they lose, and now you get to be yelled at by someone new about spreadsheets! Ain’t life grand?

  3. Congratulations on the win, Hannah. I’m sorry it was such an ordeal! Good for you for going through with it and sticking it out!! Hopefully, some day they will learn.

  4. Not sure you missed anything. We are all shakin’ the bushes boss

  5. Yes! I wish that people still said, ‘You go, girl!’ because that would be so appropriate here.
    I can’t believe the amount of illegal workplace stuff like this happens to women. Last year, a friend of mine finally made someone at her company aware of the fact that she was being sexually harassed by a coworker. She was being brave, speaking up.
    She was fired.
    She never did anything legal about it, saying that she was just glad to be out of the horrible situation, but I wish she would have, because I hate that those icky-poos got away with it.

  6. Aww honey I’m so sorry some douchebag treated you like that! Do they not remember they have MOTHERS too? I know that blow to your life seemed like an endless battle so I’m thankful that you won! Hope it was at least enough to hurt them a little:)

  7. I nominated you for the Wonderful Team Membership Award. Go here for details. http://wp.me/p2Qoij-sb And yes you don’t need to do anything you don’t want to do.

  8. FreeRangeCow says:

    Shit. Congrats. How the hell ARE YOU, anyhow? Not pregnant, but working on being a foster mom…no herpes (or at least new ones). My cat, who is spayed, still likes to frolic every night outside our bedroom window. She’s a slut.

  9. ekgo says:

    I hope that company hates you now. I hope they have made a swear word out of your name so when they’re in their little conference room planning assery, one will say, “Well, we’d better not get too carried away or we’ll get Hannahed again” and then all the old fat cats groan and mutter and curse you under their breath because if that’s what happening over there, you can rest assured that you REALLY DID WIN!!! ROCK! ON!
    On another note, I have now truly and officially read your whole blog, from start to finish. Because I’m a stalker.
    And now you can start writing and posting again.

  10. Teeny Bikini says:

    Congrats on winning your case. It never ceases to amaze me how proud people are of being asshole degenerate fuckers. I am glad you made your point. It was a point that needed making. Power on, sistah!

People who leave comments on blogs have been statistically shown to live longer, happier lives.

Humans Are Weird

colourful observations

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

1pointperspective

NOT just another WordPress.com site

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

lauren.nicolette.colie.

writer.editor.researcher.

Cinema Parrot Disco

Musings on Mainly Movies from a Table 9 Mutant

Skinny Jeans & Cupcakes

Fashionably Fit While Ballin' on a Budget

The Dirty Dame

Penny for your dirty thoughts?

Vanessa-Jane Chapman

Blog of a 40 something year old mother of two. She writes, she acts, she bakes, she works in education.

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

006.7 EKGO

a blogful of stories

mlewisredford

almost indefatigable and quietly militant naïveté ...

Bain Waves

The world is hurting; laugh more.

The Juggle Struggle

Trying hard not to drop the balls or smash the plates.

Sweet Mother

Where my Old writing lives!

Free Range Cow

The adventures and roamings of a silly cow

bakingnotwriting

A site by a writer who is baking...or a baker who isn't writing

Pucker Up Buttercup

Wisdom & Nonsense From Your Basic Suburbanite Baroness

I Won't Take It

Life After an Emotionally Abusive Relationship

