Sunny Days in DC

Jack of All Trades, Master of 3-ish.

Wanting to Be Liked

on January 14, 2013

This is the double-edged sword of, well, anything really. You want people to like what you do. But in order for people to like it, they have to notice it. But you don’t want people to pay attention to you, because what if they don’t like what they see.

An incredibly generous blogger on here has made an astounding offer to me. In fact, he’s done several really nice things for me, and I find that, in wanting to give him work that he might like, I’ve developed a severe case of the “OMFG-WHAT-IF-I-SUCK”s. So I sit in the dark of my living room, with Iron Man 2 showing on tv (not good enough to be a distracting film, but not crappy enough to distract me by making me want to find something better), and I think “what can I write that’s funny?” 

“No, that’s not funny enough.”

“No, that sucks.”

“Jesus, Hannah. Why do you suck so hard?”

And then I throw everything away and sit on the floor and eat ice cream.

Legit, I have other things I should totally be doing. Other writing projects I want to get on with, but I use WordPress as an excuse. I roam the blogs here like a giraffe nibbling from this tree or that. A “Like” here, a “Comment” there. I should be working on this other project.

This is how “meta” I am: I’m sitting here, on WordPress, writing about how I shouldn’t be here on WordPress.

My problem is, I actually care what people think. Not about anything else, but about my writing. I’m not fishing for compliments, because people on here have been more than kind enough to provide them in HEAPS. I’m just saying, I feel like I would be better, if I just cared a little less.

So, if I sucks…. essentially you only have yourselves to blame.  😉

Ha! Just kidding. It’s totally my fault. Jewish guilt.

11 responses to “Wanting to Be Liked

  1. Adam S says:

    You’re in my top ten, girlfriend. You remind me of someone I adore in “real life”. Don’t stop writing. I got a really good idea for both of your emails. Sit tight. I’m hunkered down with a project right now. After that?

    It’s game on.

  2. rainey says:

    Your version of “sucking” at writing is still 100 times better than the last 10 books I’ve read (by authors who had agents and publishers and all that shit). So suck on sister; show ’em what you’ve got!

  3. Ki Vault says:

    You just keep doing what your doing,that’s why we follow in the first place!

  4. punkycoletta says:

    Heehee! I feel that way sometimes, too!

  5. I feel the same way. Blogging is so needy…and scary. What if everyone hates what I wrote? Isn’t that why I avoid writing AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE? In case I’m bad? It’s confusing…And permanent, those damn internets…

    • H. Stern says:

      It’s weird, right? But writing makes me happy. As long as other people like it. Which is superficial and I should totally be beyond that…. but I’m not. That’s the difference between a diary and a blog, I think. With a diary, you’re kind of saying: “These are my thoughts, and they’re worth writing down.” For me, having a blog means, “These are my thoughts, and they’re worth writing down?”

      Also, I like discussing my nipples. So, there’s that.

  6. ekgo says:

    I liked this post to make you feel better about yourself. I’m really nice like that and I care about your confidence.
    Also, as you heartlessly showed in the post before this one, you are good at being not-just-funny, too, so really, it probably doesn’t matter what you write, it will be good.

People who leave comments on blogs have been statistically shown to live longer, happier lives.

Humans Are Weird

colourful observations

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

1pointperspective

NOT just another WordPress.com site

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

lauren.nicolette.colie.

writer.editor.researcher.

Cinema Parrot Disco

Musings on Mainly Movies from a Table 9 Mutant

Skinny Jeans & Cupcakes

Fashionably Fit While Ballin' on a Budget

The Dirty Dame

Penny for your dirty thoughts?

Vanessa-Jane Chapman

Blog of a 40 something year old mother of two. She writes, she acts, she bakes, she works in education.

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

006.7 EKGO

a blogful of stories

mlewisredford

almost indefatigable and quietly militant naïveté ...

Bain Waves

The world is hurting; laugh more.

The Juggle Struggle

Trying hard not to drop the balls or smash the plates.

Sweet Mother

Where my Old writing lives!

Free Range Cow

The adventures and roamings of a silly cow

bakingnotwriting

A site by a writer who is baking...or a baker who isn't writing

Pucker Up Buttercup

Wisdom & Nonsense From Your Basic Suburbanite Baroness

I Won't Take It

Life After an Emotionally Abusive Relationship

